Highlights of the July 10 Board of Education Meeting

Superintendent Nick Brown provided an update on enrollment at the July 10 Board of Education meeting. He said that many families have been registering over the past couple weeks. Enrollment as of July 7 is at 4,181 students.  To accommodate the anticipated increase in the student population, the District is considering adding several teachers. A recommendation to hire teachers at Aspen, Elementary South and Elementary North, and a potential new bilingual teacher, will be made at the July 24 meeting. Mr. Brown also noted that he and the principals are closely watching class sizes and making plans for addressing any space shortages.

The Board provided feedback on letters that will be sent to Mundelein, Libertyville and Vernon Hills regarding the District’s space concerns. The letters inform the villages that with the current housing inventory, District classrooms are already overcapacity.  The letters encourage the villages to include the District in conversations with prospective developers at an early stage to see what can be done to help the District address its space concerns.

Board member Wes Polen provided an update on the kindergarten expansion at Sullivan Community Center. She said that the kindergarten center planning team has met three times thus far and has toured several sites to review building designs. The Board’s guidelines for the design of the kindergarten center include:

  • Space should be as flexible as possible for future needs.
  • Discussion needs to take place on whether to use traditional or prefabricated construction.
  • The building should be designed for possible future additions, including a second floor.
  • Classrooms should be designed for class sizes of 25 to one or less.
  • To compensate for the loss of wetlands, the District will pay for the expansion of wetlands in another area.
  • The design will include dedicated space for small group instruction.
  • The design will provide sufficient outdoor play space.

The Board discussed plans to move ahead with its efforts to gauge public perceptions about the District and its facilities planning. A public survey and its link were posted on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and the website.  The survey will also be promoted through local newspapers. In addition to the survey, several “Bagels with the Board” meetings will be scheduled for the public to talk directly with Board members. A communication about the meetings will be sent to all households in the area.

Highlights of the 6/26 Board of Education Meeting

Highlights of the June 26 Board of Education meeting include that 10 teachers at Elementary North are pursuing National Board Certification. Board-certified teachers are recognized across the nation as having met the highest standards set by the teaching profession. Currently, only two District teachers are Board certified. In Illinois, 4.75 percent of teachers are Board certified.

Candidates undergo a rigorous, three-year, performance-based process that allows teachers to hone their practice, showcase their talent in the classroom and demonstrate their dedication to their students and their profession. The new candidates will receive support and resources through the District’s partnership with the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) and the National Board Resource Center at Illinois State University. Research shows that Board-certified teachers have a greater impact on student learning and achievement than non-certified teachers, with their students outperforming their peers in other classrooms.

Also at the meeting, staff recommended Lamp Incorporated as the construction manager for the kindergarten building expansion at the Sullivan Community Center. Staff sent requests for proposals to four firms, conducted interviews, checked references, and negotiated fees before making their recommendation.

Superintendent Nick Brown said that the District is moving forward to obtain public feedback about the spring referendum. The school will launch and publicize a community survey in the near future and schedule several “Bagels with the Board” meetings so community members can talk directly with board members.

Board of Education President Sonali Patil spoke about the Residency Event on August 2, 3 and 7 at Middle School North. She clarified that parents with children entering kindergarten do not need to attend the event, but if they have older children in the District, they do need to attend the event. She also reminded parents that enrollment numbers are changing every day, so the teacher assignments on PowerSchool may change at any time until the Residency Event.

D73 BOE Meeting

The D73 BOE will meet at 7 p.m. on Monday, June 26, in the District Offices.  Please click here for the agenda.

School board meeting cancelled.

The Hawthorn School Board meeting scheduled for tonight 1/27/14 is also cancelled due to the extreme temperatures forecast for this evening.

Hawthorn board elects officers

During the May 6 meeting of the Hawthorn Board of Education, three newly elected members were sworn in – Louis Gatta, Jeanne Engelkemeir and Ghita Mueller. In other business, the board elected new officers. Jeff Bard was elected Board President, Michelle Comitor was elected Vice-President, and Jeanne Engelkemeir was elected Secretary. Information about school board meetings is available on the school board webpages.


Nothing Found

Sorry, no posts matched your criteria