Minutes of the Special Meeting of the

Board of Education of Hawthorn Community Consolidated District Number 73, Lake County, Illinois conducted remotely per Executive Order 2020-07 in response to COVID-19.

6:00 p.m. on the 28th day of July, 2020

CALL TO ORDER

President Robin Cleek called the SPECIAL MEETING to order at 6:00p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Secretary George Fievet called attendance, the following members attended remotely, Joel Finfer, George Fievet, Victoria Helander-Heiser, Sonali Patil, Wesley Polen, Matt Jacobs and Robin Cleek. Also attending remotely were LeeAnn Taylor, Asst. Supt. of Finance and Business Operations, Allison Stein, Asst. Supt. of Teaching, Learning & Innovation, and Adam Palmer, Asst. Supt. of Human Resources. Superintendent Dr. Pete Hannigan was present at the District Office.

<u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u> – Public Comments were read into the record by Board President Robin Cleek and Vice President Wesley Polen during the hour slated for public comment and concluded at 6:57 p.m. The following community members emailed in public comment:

Lena ChurnerDevona SewellJack VietsKyle BrownSharon TweedMike & Jessica MarvinYon ChicapLiz KellyLisa FunkeTrudy SzeckAmanda BrownKelly NegronAgnelie NgmbulieTimothy NortonBrian Reichenbach

Nara Mistry Charles Longdon Adam Olbur Solomon Katta Brittany Redig Inna Titova Emily Cadwell Emily Coronado Becca Ferraro

Linda DiGati

PRESENTATIONS – Dr. Hannigan presented a follow-up to the July 20th Return to Learning Plan. The advantages and disadvantages for in-person, hybrid and full remote learning were explained. The updated survey that was sent out to the staff and community members was discussed. Hawthorn is continuously reviewing data for Region 9, for this reason, Dr. Hannigan is recommending that we start the school year by remote learning. Asst. Supt. for Teaching, Learning and Innovation Allison Stein reviewed the updated guidelines released by the Illinois State Board of Education. Dr. Hannigan indicated that each school is creating a Return to Learn subcommittee which is comprised of Administrators, staff and parents. "Our end goal is to get students back to school for in-person learning as soon as it is safely possible". Discussion ensued and Board Member questions were asked and answered. For more information, please see the Return to Learning presentation available on our website at: https://www.hawthorn73.org/.

ACTION ITEMS -

4.1 Remote Start for the 2020-2021 School Year

MOTION: Joel Finfer moved that the Board of Education approve the Remote Start for the 2020-2021 School Year; Wesley Polen seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote: Wesley Polen, Sonali Patil, Robin Cleek, Joel Finfer, George Fievet, Victoria Helander-Heiser and Matt Jacobs.

Motion carried: 7 ayes; 0 naves

4.2 Resolution Affirming Transition to School Plan for the 2020-2021 School Year

MOTION: Joel Finfer moved that the Board of Education approve the Resolution Affirming Transition to School Plan for the 2020-2021 School Year; Sonali Patil seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote: Wesley Polen, Sonali Patil, Robin Cleek, Joel Finfer, George Fievet, Victoria Helander-Heiser and Matt Jacobs.

Motion carried: 7 ayes; 0 nayes

43	Face	Covering	Policy	74.185
4.3	race	COVELING	roncy	/ T.IOJ

MOTION: Joel Finfer moved that the Board of Education approve the Face Covering Policy 4:185; George Fievet seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote: Wesley Polen, Sonali Patil, Robin Cleek, Joel Finfer, George Fievet, Victoria Helander-Heiser and Matt Jacobs.

Motion carried: 7 ayes; 0 nayes

4.4 Amended 2020-2021 School Calendar

MOTION: Joel Finfer moved that the Board of Education approve the Amended 2020-2021 School Calendar; Wesley Polen seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote: Wesley Polen, Sonali Patil, Robin Cleek, Joel Finfer, George Fievet, Victoria Helander-Heiser and Matt Jacobs.

Motion carried: 7 ayes; 0 nayes

ADJOURN THE SPECIAL MEETING – Matt Jacobs made a motion to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Sonali Patil, meeting adjourned at 8:27 p.m. All in favor.

Respectfully submitted, Bobbi Elftmann	
Robin Cleek, President	George Fievet, Secretary
Date Minutes Approved:	George Flevet, Secretary