students receiving award

Hawthorn Announces 2018 Recipients of the Most Improved Student Award

Dr.Joe Yomtoob, a former Hawthorn superintendent, and his wife, Mrs. Parichehr Yomtoob, presented the Most Improved Student Awards at last night’s Board of Education meeting. The 2018 recipients are:

Second Grade
Joseph F.- Aspen
Tony L. – School of Dual Language
Elizabeth S. – Elementary North
Cristian G. – Elementary South
Renz S. – Townline Elementary

Fifth Grade
David “Junior” F. – Aspen
Diana H. – School of Dual Language
Trey M. – Elementary North
Daniel N. – Elementary South
Layla S. – Townline Elementary

Eighth Grade
Candela A. – Middle School North
Arleth A. – Middle School South

To apply for this award, students submitted essays on why they felt they deserved the award. They were asked to reflect on how they grew in the last three years of school. They were also asked to detail the steps they took to make improvements, who helped them, and how they planned to continue to grow.