Winners of the Most Improved awards

Twelve Students Win Most Improved Awards

Congratulations to the 12 students in second, fifth and eighth grades who won this year’s “Most Improved” Awards. Dr. Joe Yomtoob, a former Hawthorn superintendent, and his wife, Mrs. Parichehr Yomtoob, presented the awards at a reception that took place prior to last night’s Board of Education meeting. The 2019 recipients are:

  • Precious O.
  • Landon B.
  • Patrick H.
  • Lara N.
  • Angeles S.
  • Ethan C.
  • Evelyn R.
  • Santiago R.
  • Sebastian C.
  • Nicole U.
  • Sydney S.
  • Gabriela G.

Several of the winners read their essays to the audience and received substantial applause in return. To apply for the award, students submitted essays on why they felt they deserved the award. They were asked to reflect on how they grew in the last three years of school. They were also asked to detail the steps they took to make improvements, who helped them, and how they planned to continue to grow.