Writing Winners

The Cook Memorial Public Library District is pleased to announce the winners of the library’s 10th Annual Creative Writing Contest open to students in grades 4 – 8 who live or attend school within the library district.

The library received 167 entries this year, a new record high. Of that number, 43 entries were selected as the best of the best. The winners, their families and two friends are invited to a special reception on Sunday, May 15 at the Aspen Drive Library in Vernon Hills.

Meet the District 73 winners:

4th Grade
Olivia Artman
Hawthorn Elementary South
”The Dollhouse”

Katie Favour
Hawthorn Elementary South
“This is My World”

Aaron Griffith
Hawthorn Elementary North
“Diary of a Book”

Emma Kendrick
Aspen Elementary
“The Girl and the Alien”

Natalia Robles
Hawthorn School of Dual Language
“Out of the Waterworks”

5th Grade

Catherine Broms
Hawthorn Elementary South
“Wind Girl”

Kailee Irvin
Hawthorn Elementary South
“A Guide to Dealing with Teenage Siblings”

Elsa Lundberg
Aspen Elementary School

Sydney Straetz
Hawthorn Elementary South
“Unseen Value”

6th Grade

Spencer Barrus
Hawthorn Middle School South
“Da Twenty Ton Gator”

Kiley Brockway
Hawthorn Middle School South
“The Wolf”

Ariadne Simeakis
Hawthorn Middle School North
“Twas the Night Before Christmas Eve”

Swathi Sureshmoorthy
Hawthorn Middle School South
“London Eye”

7th Grade

Gillian Johnson
Hawthorn Middle School South
“The Night He Came”

Abhishek Murli
Hawthorn Middle School North
“Control the Controllable”